Stoop farewell for Chris Robshaw as Quins host Wasps

Harlequins flanker Chris Robshaw will play his 299th game and final home match at the Stoop as his side face Wasps in the Premiership on Monday.

Stoop farewell for Chris Robshaw as Quins host Wasps

Stoop farewell for Chris Robshaw as Quins host Wasps

Leading the side for the final time on home ground, Robshaw is named in a run-on side with five changes to the team that played in the Premiership Cup final earlier this week.

Springbok pairing Andre Esterhuizen and Wilco Louw will make their first starts in Harlequins colours, having featured from the bench since arriving at the club in recent months.

Last weekend’s vice-captain Stephan Lewies misses out on selection after sustaining a concussion against Sale in the Premiership Cup final, replaced in the second-row by Glen Young. Scrum-half Scott Steele and wing Chris Ashton also return to the starting XV in place of Danny Care and Nathan Earle respectively.

Summer signing Jordan Els will look to make his Harlequins debut from the bench, with the South African-born loosehead prop overcoming a hamstring injury that delayed his first match in the famous Quarters.

Meanwhile, Lee Blackett has named his Wasps side for the crucial trip to Twickenham Stoop.

There is one change to the starting line-up that beat Bristol Bears last time out on September 13. Joe Launchbury is out with a calf injury and is replaced by James Gaskell.

Wasps are currently in third position in the Premiership standings and a victory would be massive for their hopes of a play-off spot.

The teams:

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aaron Morris, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Scott Steele, 8 James Chisholm, 7 Will Evans, 6 Chris Robshaw (c), 5 Glen Young, 4 Dino Lamb, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta Replacements: 16 Elia Elia, 17 Jordan Els, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Tevita Cavubati, 20 Alex Dombrandt, 21 Danny Care, 22 Brett Herron, 23 James Lang

Wasps: 15 Matteo Minozzi, 14 Zach Kibirige, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Jacob Umaga, 9 Dan Robson (c), 8 Tom Willis, 7 Jack Willis, 6 Brad Shields, 5 James Gaskell, 4 Will Rowlands, 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Tom Cruse, 1 Ben Harris Replacements: 16 Gabriel Oghre, 17 Tom West, 18 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 19 Tim Cardall, 20 Alfie Barbeary, 21 Thomas Young, 22 Ben Vellacott, 23 Michael Le Bourgeois

Venue: Twickenham Stoop Kick-off: 19:45 BST Referee: TBC


The post Stoop farewell for Chris Robshaw as Quins host Wasps appeared first on Planet Rugby.