Argentina name strong team for France showdown

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma has named a strong starting XV to take on France in their opening Rugby World Cup match in Tokyo on Saturday.

Agustin Creevy (hooker), Juan Figallo (tighthead prop) and Nicolas Sanchez (fly-half) will all appear in a third World Cup after being named in the run-on side, but there is no place in the matchday squad for veteran back-row Juan Manuel Leguizamon, who has already represented his country in three World Cups.

Leguizamon’s omission means he also misses out on equalling the Pumas’ Test appearance record. He is one match shy of Felipe Contepomi’s 87 Tests.

Meanwhile, lock Guido Petti will win his 50th Test cap. He packs down in the second-row alongside Tomas Lavanini while loosehead prop Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro joins Creevy and Figallo in the front-row.

¡Equipo confirmado para enfrentar a @francerugby! ¡Se viene el primer desafío de la #RWC2019! #VamosPumas

— Los Pumas (@lospumas) September 19, 2019

The side will be captained by star blindside flanker Pablo Matera, who lines up in the back-row with Marcos Kremer (openside flanker) and Javier Ortega Desio (number eight).

In the back-line, Tomas Cubelli starts at scrum-half while Matias Orlando and Jeronimo de la Fuente are the centre combination.

Emiliano Boffelli will take to the field at full-back while Matias Moroni and Ramiro Moyano are the starting wings.

Argentina: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Matias Moroni, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (c), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 23 Santiago Carreras

Date: Saturday, September 21 Venue: Tokyo Stadium, Tokyo Kick-off: 16:15 local (08:15 BST, 07:15 GMT) Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia) Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand) TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)